Distinguished Alumni Awards

The University of Waikato celebrates and honours graduates who have made outstanding contributions to their professions or communities by presenting them with a Distinguished Alumni Award. For a list of the University's Honorary Doctorate recipients, click here.

2020 Awardees

Kevin Bowler

CEO, My Food Bag

Bachelor of Management Studies 1986

Read More

Liz Coutts ONZM

Professional Director

Bachelor of Management Studies 1981

Read More

Judge Craig Coxhead

Māori Land Court Judge and Chief Justice of Niue

Bachelor of Social Sciences 1992
Bachelor of Laws (Hons) 1995
Master of Laws 2000

Read More

Tania Te Rangingangana Simpson

Professional Director

Bachelor of Arts 1987

Read More

We recently caught up with previous Distinguished Alumni Award winners to find out what they’ve been up to since receiving their award.

Jamie Fitzgerald sq

Jamie Fitzgerald

Director and Consultant Inspiring Performance

Read more

Parekawhia 426 x 402

Parekawhia McLean

Read more

Tom Higham

Professor Tom Higham

International Archaeologist

Read more

Theresa Gattung

Theresa Gattung, CNZM

Former Telecom CEO
Co-founder My Food Bag

Read more

Alyn Ware

Alyn Ware, CNZM

International Peace Coordinator

Read more

If you know of an alumnus who you believe should be considered for a Distinguished Alumni Award, please contact the alumni team to discuss further.